Some Quotes for You…

“’Today could be the day.’

‘Every night I pray.’

“That’s a good thing to do.’

‘People would be surprised if they knew how much in this world was due to prayers.’

‘You never said a truer word, dear.’”

Page 74 of Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut which is a fantastic book and this is the best quote I have heard in a long time.

“An American near Billy wailed that he had excreted everything but his brains.  Moments later he said, ‘There they go, there they go.’  He meant his brains.

That was I.  That was me.  That was the author of this book.”

Page 91 of  Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut where he inserts his own truths and history into the fictionalized truth and history of his reminiscent main character.  Please read this book.

Found this one on a co-workers Skype status:

Sometimes God calms the storm—and sometimes He lets the storm rage and calms His child. – Anonymous

 

“They say it doesn’t matter to wich nation you belong, every nation has its share of bad people.  But of all the Estonians Shukov had seen, he had never come across a bad one.”

Page 46 of A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovitch by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn.  I like this because I have always thought Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania seemed like nice places to go based solely on the beauty of their names on the tongue. 

 

Here is a quote from the same book as above that explains a bit of what I meant in yesterday’s post:

“It was a simple calculation for Shukhov: if he didn’t sign, he’d be shot; if he did, he would live on for a while.  He signed.” Page 62.  This is referring to paper’s the main character had to sign to say he had committed high treason, even when he hadn’t.  This is what I mean.  I can’t tell you right now that if it came down to it and I reached this point as an innocent, whether I would sign or not.

 

“How possible it is to change the circumstances of a man’s life…” Page 110 same book.

 

“Everything was now confused. The sweet had become sour, the sour sweet.  The guards were no longer the enemies of the prisoners, but the friends.  The enemy — the enemy was the other column.”

Page 112 same book.  Speaking about a race to the cafeteria for two columns of prisoners. 

 

These quotes have nothing to do with one another, I just like them.  And yes, I read books and then mark quotes I like or find I want to ponder more.  Now you know.

 

2 Responses to “Some Quotes for You…”

  1. 1. If there are dreams about a beautiful South Africa, there are also roads that lead to their goal. Two of these roads could be named Goodness and Forgiveness.

    2. I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.

    3. For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.

    – Nelson Mandela

  2. Love the quotes. Here is one from a book you gave me:

    “God gives but He doesn’t share. That’s our job.”
    – Dr. Paul Farmer

Leave a comment