I have so much to say…

but it dwindles out…can I use dwindles in that context? 

Please, I need some prayers.  I am winding down my time here and just five days ago thought I had a nearly sure way back again, paid and all.

I also thought I was graduating with my Masters, as planned, this weekend, in absentia.

Turns out both thoughts have a good chance of being entirely wrong.

One form, that was never sent to me, went unsigned-so no to graduation unless there is a real divine intervention.

And labor laws might block this position I am interviewing for from being able to be performed in Joburg.

So now I am saying goodbyes that might lead me to another six year separation, though I pray pray pray its much shorter, like exactly two months separation-style.

There are small blessings though:

A call of God for my hands.  Hands that were made for healing.  Hands that were made to doctor.

A reminder from a faithful friend to trust God’s promises more than circumstances, a lot lot more.

The karaoke song, I’ve been practicing singing/dancing to for our young adult event Sunday, being just the right one for my situation this week, When You Believe.

My parents really absolutely being on my side.  And more than that, my parents listening/serving/loving the same God I do, this really is a huge one.

Friends who show their true friendship even when they are far away or near.

I am so so blessed.  I am just clinging to a few great psalms and song lyrics these days.

Whenever I struggle with life/emotions/whatever I go and read Psalms 46 and 47, back-to-back.  I taught myself to make this a routine everytime it felt hopeless.  And goodness, it helps.  Let me show you:

Psalm 46

For the director of music. Of the Sons of Korah. According to Alamoth. A song.

 1 God is our refuge and strength,
       an ever-present help in trouble.

 2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
       and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,

 3 though its waters roar and foam
       and the mountains quake with their surging.
       Selah

 4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
       the holy place where the Most High dwells.

 5 God is within her, she will not fall;
       God will help her at break of day.

 6 Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
       he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

 7 The LORD Almighty is with us;
       the God of Jacob is our fortress.
       Selah

 8 Come and see the works of the LORD,
       the desolations he has brought on the earth.

 9 He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth;
       he breaks the bow and shatters the spear,
       he burns the shields with fire.

 10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
       I will be exalted among the nations,
       I will be exalted in the earth.”

 11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
       the God of Jacob is our fortress.
       Selah

Because let’s be honest, whatever it is that has put me in distress is nowhere near as bad as the mountains falling into the sea.  And in the storms of my own life, God really is my refuge.  And one of the best verses to truly meditate on, to dig into is verse 10-Be Still, and Know That I Am God.  If you can really achieve the be still and then the Know that God is God, life is put into perfect perspective.  Not that it gets any easier or your troubles go away, but that you can let the one who works best, work his best for you, which is 10,000+ times better than the best I can ever imagine.

But then we must continue…Psalm 47…

Psalm 47

For the director of music. Of the Sons of Korah. A psalm.

 1 Clap your hands, all you nations;
       shout to God with cries of joy. 2 How awesome is the LORD Most High,
       the great King over all the earth!

 3 He subdued nations under us,
       peoples under our feet.

 4 He chose our inheritance for us,
       the pride of Jacob, whom he loved.
       Selah

 5 God has ascended amid shouts of joy,
       the LORD amid the sounding of trumpets.

 6 Sing praises to God, sing praises;
       sing praises to our King, sing praises.

 7 For God is the King of all the earth;
       sing to him a psalm of praise.

 8 God reigns over the nations;
       God is seated on his holy throne.

 9 The nobles of the nations assemble
       as the people of the God of Abraham,
       for the kings of the earth belong to God;
       he is greatly exalted.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 says it simply as:  “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  Pretty clear isn’t it?  Well then,we must take it to heart, even when the world has broken our heart.  So after putting my troubles into perspective by a) how bad things could be and b) how big God is then its time to offer praise and Psalm 47 is a great one for it.

And if you want some song lyrics that wrap it up and have been on my mind this week here ya go!

When the oceans rise & thunder roars
I will soar with You above the storm
Father, you are King over the flood
I will be still know You are God

and

You’re calling me to lay aside the worries of my day/to quiet down my busy mind and find a hiding place/Worthy/You are Worthy.

I recommend it.  The only way out is Jesus, everytime.  The old Sunday School answer really works, trust me dear readers.

2 Responses to “I have so much to say…”

  1. Thanks for this. Here are some more lyrics.

    Ah, Lord God
    thou hast made the heavens,
    and the earth by thy great power.

    Ah, Lord God
    thou hast made the heavens,
    and the earth by thine outstretched arms.

    Nothing is too difficult for thee!
    Nothing is too difficult for thee! ……..

    ====================
    Oh, no, you never let go
    through the calm and through the storm.
    Oh, no, you never let go
    in every high and every low.
    Oh no, you never let go
    Lord, you never let go of me

    ====================
    Jesus loves me,
    this I know.
    For the Bible tells me so.
    Little ones to him belong;
    they are weak, but He is strong.

    Yes, Jesus loves me!
    Yes, Jesus loves me!
    Yes, Jesus loves me:
    the Bible tells me so.

  2. It’s always so great to know that even though sometimes things don’t work out the way we planned that there is a plan, sometimes it just takes a little longer to get to the comfortable spot than you wanted.

    I hope that your last few days in Africa are filled with love, happiness and blessings and that you have safe travel home. I also hope that you’ll get some answers and you’ll be able to make some plans soon and I really hope you can get back to ZA in a couple months. Keep me updated 🙂

Leave a Reply

