In Need of Time Consumers

First go here and read this wonderful post about television by FrugalGranola

I responded to her thoughts with this comment:  I am currently in an internship in South Africa. I am living across the world from friends and family and now living alone. I turn on my television all the time for sound in the house and for entertainment because I have nothing else to do. I spend my free time at home watching tv, cooking and baking, and reading books. I don’t plan to always have a tv or cable when I have my own family but for now it fills some gaps. If you have any other ideas for how to spend my free time at home (I do leave the house and visit museums, go to concerts, etc too) please let me know. I am looking for other or new hobbies.

And now I leave it up to you folks, dearest readers, to help me out with ideas too.

Because really I spend my time working, cooking/baking-lots and lots of time, effort, energy, and thoughts, reading any novels I can get my hands on, and watching tv or movies.

And please understand, I love reading, I love cooking/baking (though I prefer to do it for others), I love movies and I enjoy working and watching tv.  I don’t do these things just because I can-but because I do like all these activities.

But they are not filling all my time.  So now I am playing computer card games: solitaire, spider solitaire, freecell, and hearts over and over again.  And the boredom, loneliness, etc is not satisfying by any means.

I knew to expect some of this but goodness gracious, I’ve had enough.  I do get out and do nice and usually free activities in the area.  And I do go to a nice church and have a lovely bible study group.  But I need more.

So what do you think?  Any hobbies, activities that have struck you as a Jennifer would love this! sort of time spender?  What do you do for fun, in your free time, for yourself/for others, etc, etc, etc?

Notes: I am only here for 2.5 more months.  I cannot garden (though I would love to do so one day).  I am not naturally crafty and really have no interest in needlepoint or scrapbooking to name a few.  Those are enough direction pointers for now, I hope.

5 Responses to “In Need of Time Consumers”

  1. call pastor willie dengler. 011-837-3437

    he is in the US at the moment…but he will offer you hobbies that will reward and satisfy.

  2. Thank you for your honest response! That is exactly where I was those years ago. Alone in a house, lonely with a TV, but still busy baking, etc.

    Obviously, I don’t know you, so I can’t suggest ideas tailored to you, but can you think of this time as a “honeymoon” with God? (I once heard Rebecca St. James refer to a time such as that, during a radio interview.) Immersing yourself in prayer & praise music could be a wonderful alternative to the TV. Perhaps visiting others (taking meals to ill or weary, aiding a tired mom as a “mother’s helper,” assisting widows with visits/conversation, etc.) I have found these things to be wonderful alternatives in my life.

    Blessings to you!
    Michele

  3. Oh, boy can I relate to this on several different levels!

    If you were staying longer my suggestions would be different. I agree with Michele that you can spend more time with God (praying, sitting and waiting, reading the Bible, singing), and also doing for others. The church you attend and/or your co-workers must have people they know (I especially think of the widows and orphans since that is my heart) that you can minister to. Read to them? Run errands? Take them somewhere with you? Cook for them?

    You will be making contact with people, which I know is a yearning for you, and you will be God’s hands and feet at the same time.

    Keep us posted!

  4. Hey! I don’t know you at all, but would like to start reading and tracking your blog! I’m a friend of Michele’s at Frugal Granola. I actually have had a lot of transition in my life this year and a lot more time alone to just be…..and I’ve taken up knitting and sewing 🙂 I know you said you aren’t interested in needlepoint, but seriously…knitting is way cool, if you can find the supplies and someone to show you the basics. I’ve also been sewing purses and little bags (in my attempts to get rid of plastics)…which I just eyeball (no pattern) and sew on a machine (you could hand-stitch as well). Or make cards by sewing or pasting various papers together. I have already started making Christmas presents for family and friends. Just some thoughts 🙂

  5. It’s really good to hear from you! I actually got the title of the blog today song “Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans”. I’m similar to you that though while I miss the south, and home, like crazy! I still love it hear and wouldn’t trade what I’m doing for anything. We’re getting married on June 12th in Springdale, if you happen to be in the are we would love to see you there, regardless you’ll be getting an invitation. Africa sounds amazing, and I really enjoy reading your blogs. As for your your question in the blog, one thing that I’ve done before that sounds kinda of weird but can be interesting is people watching and taking notes. Studying the culture and comparing it to my own.
    Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

