I Like Lesotho…

but in my one week here I have discovered it is no Kenya.  I am struggling to download all my Kenya thoughts for you, as though I’d rather just hold them close to me selfishly.  It’s so weird.

I never expected any of this Kenya hunger.  Lesotho is a vibrant country and beautiful in its own way.  But in Kenya I stayed awake for every car ride, I didn’t read, I didn’t waste any moment but just let my eyes soak in everything, everything.  My eyes drank their fill-coffee fields, craggy mountains, plains, drought-ridden waterways, all of it. 

Lesotho is mountain after mountain and rock after rock-the color scheme is the same even though the shapes are always unique.  When I first wrote this sentence I said “Lesotho is just mountain after mountain” but that’s not true, there really is much more but it doesn’t speak to me the way Kenya does.  I force my eyes to keep watching.

 And yet, I have only touched four countries in this entire continent, I don’t even know what else I’m missing.  Or not missing but just not gaining yet.

I am more than ready to go back to Kenya or back to Joburg as second best and my actuality.  I have adored these 2.5+ weeks of travel but I need just a while of home-sense: driving myself around town again, cooking my own meals, having a guarantee of toilet paper in every restroom, etc.

I am sorry to be melancholic or something like it.  I have found or lost myself in these travels.  I have questioned and prayed and pondered and planned these past few weeks.  Maybe it is the language barriers or your absence/distance.  If you had been here, it would be different, I know–any one of you.

And in time I will get over my selfish clinging and hording of stories and photos and deep thoughts, hopefully a few days…or less.

Wouldn't you miss this too?
3 Responses to “I Like Lesotho…”

  1. Please, do share your thoughts and pictures!!

    I love how God is working in you and your life.

  2. I wish I could have been there with you 🙂

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

