I Know I Already Posted Today BUT I Have A Must-Read Story…

for each and everyone of you.

I am an intern here for World Vision in Johnnesburg, South Africa.  This generally means I do whatever is needed. 

So today I was packing up to end my day and go home.  It was a little later than usual as I had been busy talking to a co-worker in Seattle about some upcoming jobs.  When all of a sudden two of my co-workers walked into the room.  One is the Channels of Hope director for Africa.  She was one of the facilitators at the workshop I attended this week.

Well…she took one look at me and said, “Jennifer, are you an adventurous sort of person?”

Thinking back on my caving days and the fact that I came to Africa for an internship I said, “Yes, yes I am.”

Then she asked, “Do you consider yourself a spontaneous person?”

“Well, yes, yes I would.”

At this point I thought she was going to hand me a last minute project to complete over the weekend or she was going to ask me to drive across town to pick up a poster or something silly.  My thoughts flashed to my gas tank, running on empty for some days as I wait for my second paycheck.

Instead she shocked me entirely by asking one more question:

“Well, how would you like to come to Kenya with me tomorrow for a week?”

OH  MY GOODNESS!  This is pee-your-pants thrilling! 

In case you wonder, I said yes.  We had a few details to work out like me taking a week off of the work I have been doing with my co-worker in Seattle.  Then we had to rush to a travel clinic so I could get my second Yellow Fever vaccination of the past two months (I lost my YF card before I moved here and my parents found it and mailed it but it seems to be lost in the ether).  Etc.

And now here I am telling you.  I will be picked up by a shuttle tomorrow at 8:30 am and then gone until late on September 1st.  We will be in Nairobi and then the Rift Valley in two or three communities, one of which is a Masai community.  Do you get how excited I am?  Kenya is the home of some of my closest friends!  The longing place of Mimi, John, Teej, etc, etc, etc!

And the unexpectedness of it just makes my soul sing!  This is how I live my life these days, folks!  I know it won’t last forever but for now I am loving it!

So in approximately 13 hours I will be on my way to Kenya where I will be assisting in any way possible to conduct and record interviews with key people involved in community based HIV & AIDS work ranging from clergy to health care workers to government workers.

We won’t have internet during the week so don’t expect to hear from me much, if at all.  But I will take loads of photos and be ready to report back come September 2nd, Lord willing.

Instead take the time to respond to the HIV & AIDS & Islam quiz two posts ago, or to read and respond to my post on violence in the world.  Or go here and read this beautiful love story through hardship.  I am linking you to a fast track post where you can get an update on a story of God’s grace and love for this family! 

Or go here and see the Top 10 Scientifically Inaccurate Movies, note Outbreak which is so NOT about Ebola even though they show a picture of the Ebola virus within the film.

If you’re still in the mood for a love story please check out The Pioneer Woman’s truth life romance!  Seriously, this is better than a movie!

If you feel like building your heart in a different way and getting your exercise on.. check out the 100 Pushups Challenge…I keep trying to find time to do it myself but am struggling with busy-ness.

If you want to read a story about a hero in HIV & AIDS, who I also know personally and work with…check out this story.

And then, please go make these cookies and send me a few, will ya?

And finally, go check out this awesome website sent to me by my most faithful reader and commenter, Maureen.  Look at NASA’s picture of the day or go back to the Discover the Cosmos (ha, Kosmos/Cosmos) link to see archives of fantastic photos.  Remember, you can’t save the kosmos if you don’t even know what it is!  Then you should reflect on the grandeur of our God who breathes stars out of his mouth (Psalm 33:6) like I breathe out Carbon Dioxide. 

Let yourself also be reminded that “Somewhere out there beneath the pale moonlight
Someone’s thinking of me and loving me tonight
Somewhere out there someone’s saying a prayer
That we’ll find one another in that big somewhere out there And even though I know how very far apart we are It helps to think we might be wishing on the same bright star.” 
 

If you’re wondering who’s out there loving you from far away under the same great sky, it’s me, it’s me!

While I’m gone please keep me in your prayers.  Safety, joy, and a helpful spirit are a few key needs for me!  And leave a few comments too!  I love comments.  Remember, I love all of you.

4 Responses to “I Know I Already Posted Today BUT I Have A Must-Read Story…”

  1. Ooo! Ooo!! Let’s all pee our pants!

    Ok, just kidding. But I am SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!

    Whee!!!!!!!!! Jungle Girls for Jesus!!!

  2. Oh I love An American Tale! Such a great movie and great song!. Have a good time in Kenya, I know you’ll be able to do great things. And I am so jealous of all your spontaneous trips. They are the spice of life after all. I can’t wait to see your pics when you get back. You are the most faithful blogger I know. I on the other hand don’t have time to blog so they always end p being on weekends… anyway, have fun 🙂

  3. Jennifer–
    You are wonderful. Have fun. I’m living vicariously through you.

  4. i am soooo excited for you! my home town! i know you’ll have a wonderful time and i can’t wait ta hear about it!

Leave a Reply

