As Everyone is Saying: Happy Birthday Madiba*!

  Today is Nelson Mandela’s 90th birthday and all the radio and television shows in the area are talking about it and have been talking about it since I arrived.  They have been inviting viewers and listeners to call in and wish Madiba a Happy Birthday all week long.  There is a giant concert planned in tribute of him in London’s Hyde Park today too.

And here in South Africa, Nando’s (a fast food chicken chain) is offering a free meal to anyone 90 years and over.

Not so well-known, today is also Nelson’s 10th anniversary with his third wife Graca Machel.  So Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary Madiba!

*For those of you who don’t want to click through the Wikipedia links I have provided…Madiba is an “honorary title adopted by elders of Mandela’s clan. The title has come to be synonymous with Nelson Mandela.” (Wikipedia).

In other news, my first week of work is ending today.  I finally met Martha my boss but very shortly.  I hope to have more time to catch up with her but it may not happen till next week as she just flew in from the U.S. last night.  I am planning to go and buy an adaptor for my personal laptop tomorrow so I can upload photos again for you.  I have multiple blog posts completely developed minus pictures, so be excited!  I am also so glad to know there are people out there reading this, keep it up, keep commenting. 

Keep praying too.  A walk to the mall is possible tomorrow but not 100% safe, so keep that in your prayers.  I won’t be stupid but still, divine safety is so much better than anything I can do to help myself.  You probably won’t hear from me until Monday as I don’t know if I can finangle a way to get internet in my flat.  But I will certainly make an attempt.  Have a great weekend folks and eat some cake in honor of Madiba’s birthday!

Leave a Reply

