Cleaning House plus our first SURVEY…

First day at work here.  I had no idea what time my ride was coming to pick me up for the office as my housemate was still away.  So I set my alarm for 6:30 so that I could be up and ready to go by 7, guessing that would be the earliest anyone would come.  I also went to bed before 9 p.m. because I was just exhausted from watching TV all day, and maybe from jet lag!  So lovely me decided to wake up at 4:15 no longer tired and ready to go.  When my ride finally came at 8:30 or so, I had already watched the news four times at least.  I saw the weather over 10 times, heard about Angelina Jolie’s new twins, and been updated on South African sports again and again and again.

 

Shortly before my ride came, the housekeeper showed up.  Have I told you we have a housekeeper?  And not only that, but she comes three times a week?  Our house (flat, whatever) is less than 1500 square feet.  And there’s only two of us, though there was just one for a long time.  I appreciate the help, as you may know, I am not the best at cleaning.  But it still feels weird especially to have someone else do it for me, three times a week.  I felt awful as she got to the laundry, ironing (yes, she irons Mom! […my mother told me to pay someone to iron for me because she knows I just won’t do it]), floors, bathrooms, etc. while I sat on the couch watching the news for the fourth or fifth time and playing my 102nd game of Solitaire of the day.  On the ride to work I asked the two ladies driving me how much work I should accomplish on my own and how much I should leave for Winnie to do.  Since neither of them has ever had a housekeeper they said it was up to me.  But they did suggest that on the days she doesn’t come Tues, Thurs, Sat, and Sun that I do enough work to keep the place going (or as much as I need done to feel comfortable) but if I know she is coming, it is okay if I leave a few dishes in the sink.

 

What are your thoughts on sharing the work with a housekeeper?  As my mother would be wont to tell me, it’s okay to have help with the smaller constant tasks if you can pay for it.  And Becci Rothfuss once confirmed that I might just be the sort of personality who needs help with the regular constant things so I can focus on what I love to do: work through the crazy, abnormal, huge things.

 

But now, I want your thoughts, feedback, complaints, criticisms–eh forget the 2 C’s for now.  Just answer my simple one question survey about your thoughts on sharing the work with a house keeper!  Loves ya’ll.

<a href=”http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=7spcxLG41MMdjzlNzdA_2fuQ_3d_3d”>Click Here to take survey</a>

3 Responses to “Cleaning House plus our first SURVEY…”

  1. Maureen Says:

    A cleaning lady?!?!?! Wowsers!

    I think the advice you got was good. Clean up the big chunks on the days she’s not there, and it is ok to leave a bit for when she does come. Pray for ways to bless her while you are there, Jennifer!

  2. Oksu Ellis Says:

    Wow!! I envy you. Housekeeping will help you to focus on what you like to do. If I were you I would try to keep up house pretty nice daily by picking up your stuff, doing dishes, cleaning toilet and etc. When she comes you don’t have to worry about doing that work much. You don’t want to abuse it, but it’s okay to get help. That’s why she is there. If you think floor needs to be mopped, but you were busy or possibly you didn’t feel like doing it. It’s okay to leave that work for her. Relax! Take a blessing! Don’t feel guilty as long as you treat her with love and respect.

  3. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

