Things I Have Learned Recently…

1.  If I were ever to write a book, it would basically be a plagiarism of one that already exists.  Amy Krouse Rosenthal has already written my memoir, give or take a few items, in An Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life.  This is one of the first books I read in only a day in a very long time.

2. I always knew I was a list maker but now I believe if anyone found out just how much I list they would be a bit scared for me.  I throw away pages and pages of lists every week.  I make online lists, handwritten lists, typed lists.  I write things on to-do lists that I have already accomplished just so I can cross them out.  I make alternate lists for transportation routes and times.  I make lists of things I need to buy now, lists of things I need to buy when I have money.  Lists of how much money I have, had, have coming in soon, or soon-ish. 

3.  I put a belt on my list of things to buy when I have money.  I have only two dressy pairs of pants and one is a little big.  My old belt died recently.  I do not have money enough to buy a belt yet, but lo and behold!  I was looking for a camera battery in a drawer and found another belt I forgot I had.  Whether it came with a dress I own or my mother or whoever, it was in my drawer and fits that pair of pants just so! 

4.  I think I am really beginning to love my new job.

5.  I do not think I will ever love my commute.  If a one hour one-way trip is a world’s best for this 15 mile multiple bus ride, I will never be truly satisfied.  But…one hour is still better than the two hours it sometimes takes.

6.  Utter shameless honesty in the right time and place is a beautiful beautiful thing.  Honesty is always good but can be tough, but in the right place and time it’s pure loveliness.

One Response to “Things I Have Learned Recently…”

  1. Wow, you sound a lot like me, I do the list thing all the time! just this week I downloaded music aggregated from five lists all suggestions from ONE person.

    Sorry about the crummy commute, I contend my job is only palatable because my commute is 5 minutes long. 7 minutes during the rush half hour. Do you have a library you can use for books on CD? Mine had a surprising number of new books and classics and it might give you something small to look forward to in the car in an otherwise boring commute.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

